Class of 2019 honoured at annual awards ceremony


Hundreds of learners have celebrated completing their studies at New College Lanarkshire.

More than 600 former students from our six campuses across Lanarkshire and East Dunbartonshire were brought together for the annual Awards Ceremony at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall.

They were cheered on by friends, family, supporters, staff members and invited guests as they took to the stage to be congratulated by our new Principal and Chief Executive, Professor Christopher Moore.

All learners who have recently completed studies at SCQF Level 7 (HNC) and above were invited to attend one of two ceremonies.

The first ceremony at 11am attracted graduands from the faculties of Care & Science, Engineering & Automotive, and Service Industries, while a second ceremony at 4pm was dedicated to those from the faculties of Business, Social Science & Sport, and Computing & Creative Industries.

Graduands and their guests were welcomed by Senior Learner Engagement Officer, John O’Hara, while entertainment was provided by a band made up of staff and students of HND Music.

Five Outstanding Achievement awards were given to students who had shone in the course of their studies, with each receiving a cheque for £100 from sponsors Ede & Ravenscroft.

In addition, three students received SQA Graded Unit Awards, with one of those students, Gemma Graham, also presented with The Eleanor Lafferty Award. The Eleanor Lafferty Award was established in memory of an inspirational Law lecturer who returned as a mature student to Motherwell College, one of NCL’s legacy institutions.

Having recently retired as the chairperson of the Lanarkshire Regional Board, Dr Linda McTavish CBE was honoured with a New College Lanarkshire Fellowship Award for her services to Lanarkshire.

Dr McTavish, who gave a keynote address, was presented with a framed print created by HND Art & Design student Karen Morris as recognition of her dedication to NCL students and the broader education sector.

She said: “I feel very privileged and honoured to receive this fellowship from New College Lanarkshire.

“NCL means so much to me for what it does and achieves: it provides opportunities for individuals, communities and businesses to develop and enhance learning and skills.

“Since its inception as the Regional College, it has worked with school students, early learners, adult returners, apprentices and those seeking national and higher national programmes complemented by innovative degree opportunities.

“Through the success of NCL students in national and international competitions, the name of New College Lanarkshire is known throughout Scotland, the UK and at world level.

“Accepting this honour will allow me to continue to be part of the NCL experience.”

Previous recipients of the Fellowship Award have included Sir Boyd Tunnock, Lord Mulholland and Des Clarke.

Four lucky students discovered ‘golden tickets’ under their seats – and each received a special prize of wireless earphones.

The ceremonies were signed by Mark Malley and Dawn Stokes, who are Communication Support Workers at New College Lanarkshire.

Professor Moore said: “New College Lanarkshire’s annual Awards Ceremony is a celebration of the academic achievements of our students and a recognition of their many talents and skills.

“It is so important that we pay tribute to our students’ energy, diligence and determination and this event provides an excellent platform for us to do this.

“I am pleased to be able to thank so many of the friends and family who gave their support and encouragement to our students during their time with us.

“Furthermore, I would like to express my thanks and gratitude to all of the staff at New College Lanarkshire for the outstanding work that they do in support of our students and for their resolute commitment to the on-going advancement of the College.”

Photos were taken by HND Photography students Adella Qotrunada, Connor O'Neill, Lauren Gray, Mariola Milewska and Michael Stewart.

View more photos from the Awards Ceremony here:

Flickr – Graduation 2019

« Back to News